Thoughts in transit

On my way back from Sapporo, I had a smooth transit in Shanghai thanks to the warm hospitality of dear friends.

I haven’t been back to Shanghai in years. The city is a sharp contrast from my past week spent in the natural beauty and simple tranquility of northern & eastern Hokkaido. Yet, instinctively I get why big cities such as this – despite its congestion, smog and indiscriminate display of wealth – beguiles and seduces. The buzz, the energy, the opportunities, the ladders to climb, the access to more networks, the people. Shanghai is not my kind of city. But I get its organic appeal, the charm of old Shanghai, or whatever is left of it, co-existing with the modern and fashionable. (On the other hand, a place like Dubai – I do not get it at all.)

Here’s a view of the old part of the city at Lu Wan district. Where does its future lie?

_SAM1768

_SAM1767

Leave a Reply

