3 things that made me happy this week

Despite yet another challenging work week, I am going to write down the 3 things that made me happy:

1. The prospect of upcoming vacations

I’ve some short trips lined up next month, one of which is with family. Am too busy to “look forward” to the trip much less plan the activities. But the vague idea that it is in the pipeline keeps me sane. Will keep you posted of my adventures.

2. Listening to the molto allegro of Mozart’s Jupiter Symphony

Mozart wrote 41 symphonies during his short life time, with the last 3 written in a short span of 6 weeks. Here’s what people have said about his last symphony – nicknamed “Jupiter”:

The Giant Jupiter

Revolutionary

(i)t is for the finale that Mozart has reserved all the resources of his science, and all the power, which no one seems to have possessed to the same degree with himself, of concealing that science, and making it the vehicle for music as pleasing as it is learned. Nowhere has he achieved more. ~ George Grove

(i)t’s exuberant and introspective, charming and complicated – a lot like life itself. ~ Elizabeth Blair, NPR

I like the last description the best.

Listen to it for yourself and be the judge. This is the final movement of the Jupiter Symphony, the molto allegro. For the geeks, there’s a detailed analysis here.

To watch the live performance of Mozart’s last 3 symphonies, catch the Singapore Symphony Orchestra on 2 September 2011, 7.30pm Esplanade  Concert Hall.

3.   A new tote

Ok technically, I bought this last week. I’m looking forward to taking it out for its premiere stroll about town.

I had started out with the intent of shopping for a gym bag. But ended up with something a little bit fancier.

4 thoughts on “3 things that made me happy this week

  1. bookjunkie

    I love Mozart as well….even the darker music…..or maybe especially the darker music.

    Totes are nice…..especially those which can hold your books.

    I would love holidays more if it was minus the actual travelling to get to the destination. I don’t mind travelling by sea or rail though.

    Reply
    1. plumerainbow Post author

      Ironically, it took me a while to get Mozart’s brighter music. It puzzled me as to why his music (almost) always sound so happy?! Yet after reading his biography, I’m amazed at how he managed to harness those creative powers and transformed them into sentiments of joy & hope despite the very unhappy circumstances he was in.

      Oh yes, I definitely have books in mind when I buy a bag!

      How about travelling slowly? That way it doesn’t feel like travelling. Just another day of exploration at one’s own pace.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

