Happy Meal

The whole week, I had been wanting to cook my own meal. That’s the thing about being a working adult in Singapore. You don’t get a lot of time to cook on weekdays.

My food craving was very specific. Before I go on, let me be clear to the foodies and carnivores out there: you have been forewarned. This is not some recipe for an elaborate braised meat stew or presenting a charcuterie platter. It’s just me – a “cook” who goes by the definition of turning raw food into cooked ones – craving for a home-cooked meal, with simple yet exacting tastes that I can’t find in a hawker centre or food court.

You see, after eating out so often, I yearned for vegetables. To be exact, cruciferous vegetables. Now now, dear carnivorous readers, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

The most common cruciferous vegetables sold locally are the broccoli, white cauliflower, cabbage and kai lan. Water cress is apparently a cruciferous vegetable too, although the type that is usually found here is the more matured version of the plant, commonly used in cooking Chinese soups to cure “heatiness”.

I suppose that there are health benefits; some people call broccoli and cauliflower “super veggies”. But I genuinely do like them. Not just the taste, but the way they look too.

The tight clusters of floret buds makes me wonder why is a cauliflower even called a “vegetable”. Even the name itself suggests that it should be a flower!

Somehow, the shape of a cauliflower also reminds me of a human brain: intricate, complex and complements the soul, the last of which is essentially what nourishing food is to me.

Then there is the distant cousin, broccoli.

I like the idea of creating a colourful dish. So I threw in an orange pepper. I’ve never always liked peppers but have since grew to enjoy the unique taste and traffic light colours.

I plan to go on a cruciferous journey. Purple and orange cauliflowers are so expensive here, but I hope to be able to try cooking them one day. Another cruciferous vegetable that I really like is brussels sprouts which are again, so expensive here excluding the carbon foot print, when in England you could get a big bagful for only 2 pounds! Hopefully one day, my travels will revolve around going to different places and tasting food cooked from local produce.

Right now, I’m pretty contented with my simple home-cooked happy meal.

3 thoughts on “Happy Meal

Leave a Reply

