Hillary Clinton’s handbag philosophy

I first read about Hillary Clinton’s comments on handbags here. Now this I am interested!

In an interview by Harper’s Bazaar, the US Secretary of State says:

“I do love a good handbag…I think they could be either a great divider or uniter… I’m on the uniter side. I think no one should make fun of anyone else’s handbag choices.” … “I think we should be united in our support of one another. Because this is like a deep psychological need. It’s a desire to kind of organize and contain that which is important to you in your daily life. I have a philosophical view about this, and I have this Ferragamo hot-pink bag that I adore. My view was that I would carry it around only in spring, but it makes me so happy, I’m even now lugging it around in January. I mean, how can you be unhappy if you pick up a big pink bag?”

 

Hillary Clinton and her pink Ferragamo. Pic from Washington Post (AP)

 

Ok, the article mentioned a whole bunch of other things as well, including Wikileaks and a passing remark about Hugo Chavez. But really, it’s the bag statement that steals the thunder. Yup, that’s right! Like me and many others, the world’s most famous woman is a sucker for good handbags!

Unlike Secretary Clinton, pink might not exactly be my choice of handbag colours. But for someone who isn’t fussed at all about accessories, I agree that handbags are a MUST. So what makes me happy? A perfect-sized handbag with a smashing colour, that can fit ALL my daily essentials. All the while looking chic.

At the moment, I’m hooked on (or is it the other way round?) a lemon grass colour bucket tote. What colour of handbag makes you happy?

5 thoughts on “Hillary Clinton’s handbag philosophy

Leave a Reply

