Bach’s Prelude in C

After returning to “reality” (as some of my friends call it) for 1.5 months, I’m beginning to see the return of eyebags from nights of working. But even in the madness of a hectic urban life, I’m determined to savour every single simple luxury in life, and that includes re-visiting my first love, the piano.

Never mind that the fingers are too rusty to tackle the tough arpeggios and complex passages. Sometimes, music is most beautiful when it is the simplest. Case in point: J.S. Bach’s Prelude in C BWV 846 from the Well-Tempered Clavier Book 1. If ever I have the luxury of listening to one last piece of music on my death bed, it would be this Prelude in C.

Gabriela Montero recorded a wonderful improvisation of Bach’s Prelude in C and unfortunately I can’t upload it here (sometimes copyright is a hindrance to sharing good things conveniently). But I’d be more than happy to lend you the CD. 😀

8 thoughts on “Bach’s Prelude in C

  1. Feet on fire

    just getting into Bach myself. Just about time considering that I live part of the time near his house. Yep, I am the only Singaporean for (hundreds of?) miles around in this part of Europe.

    Reply
      1. Feet on fire

        I live in a large forest not far from either towns. Nature and history everywhere I go about on my day to day life.

        When I was living in the Highlands, it was jaw dropping scenery everywhere I went. Here a Munro, there a glittering loch. There a soaring golden eagle, here a pretty floppy haired highland cow.

        In this part of Germany, it is jaw dropping history. Here was where Bach composed, there was where Goethe wrote Faust. This is the ancestral castle of the Windsors and where half the royal families of Europe originated, there was where Martin Luther knuckled down for the impossible fight against the Vatican juggernaut. Here the Audi and BMW was invented, there the Bauhaus and modern design was birthed, etc, etc, etc.

      2. plumerainbow Post author

        Wow that is so cool, you living in a forest and yet within reach of the cultural capital.

        I think I get what you mean about that part of Germany. A place which saw great composers, writers, philosophers, scars of WWs. So much modern history, both the glorious and the stained (Buchenwald is not far from Weimar if I recall?).

  2. Feet on fire

    Well, Germany has extensive forests but due to the population density, you are never far from a city. I can literally ski out my front door into the forest during winter (my neighbours do). The European E3 and E6 walking trails intersect not far from me, one runs from Spain to Bulgaria, the other from Finland to Turkey. Theoretically, I can enter the forest and not come out of it again until I hit the end at Artic Finland (or conversely Turkey). Some day, I might try it.

    There’s lots of wild food – truffles, chanterelles, wild garlic, blueberries, forest strawberries, black berries, wild apples and plums, pears and cherries, peaches and walnuts. Just growing wild all over the place. I picked 5 kg of sweet chestnuts in October.

    I reckon I need 4 homes. One in Singapore, one in Berlin or Paris, one in my forest, and one near the coast (Sardinia? Indonesia? Corsica?). Then perhaps an 8 week long holiday every year (for the time consuming destinations like Tajikistan and Siberia) and a short 2 week holiday (for more convenient destinations like Granada or Damascus)

    This would satisfy my travel lust, and the rest of the year, I could function normally like other human beings (ie, family, career, climbing social ladders).

    I am not a million miles away from my goals, considering that 10 years ago I was just a penniless new graduate.

    Reply
    1. plumerainbow Post author

      Europe does have marvellous walking trails doesn’t it? I want to try the ones in Scotland. A more well-marked one like the Great Glen Way, and then maybe from coast to coast.

      I even thought about walking around Singapore! But let me try cycling around it first…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

