Jazz in Madrid

Haven’t listened to jazz in a while, and stumbled across Cafe Central which is just a stone’s throw away from my hostel. Later I was told by someone at the bar that there aren’t many places to listen to live jazz in Madrid and I was lucky to be here.

And it is here that I first heard this unbelievable double bass player, Javier Colina, playing in a trio with saxophonist Perico Sambeat and pianist Albert Sanz. Amazing skills. I’m told he is the best double bass player in Spain.

All in all, the trio gave some good performances. Also liked that they played quite a bit of Thelonius Monk who I was secretly mad about during university days.

Liked it enough to come back twice!

Leave a Reply

